Go Ahead Then, Be That Way

11 Dec

Our shop’s doing one of those boooorrrringggg video-host microsites for a big client of ours. The contact for this project calls me yesterday evening after the second round of script revisions. Keep in mind that this is an award-winning, respected scriptwriter that has written 90% of the other projects we’ve done for them.

Client:You’re still way off the mark with the script. I don’t think you understand what the product really is.
Me: It’s a glorified super ball. I think we’ve got it. We’ve also done over a month of research into the product and extensive demographic profiling.
Client: Do you understand it bounces higher than the competition? I don’t think you do.
Me: Yes. It’s the bounciest ball in the world. It can out-bounce even the best super balls. Plus, it glows in the dark. Who knew?
Client: I think I’m just going to re-write the script myself. I think I have more insight into my own product than a scriptwriter.
Me: Have you ever written for talent before?
Client: No, but how hard can it be? I’ll have it to you in a week.
Me: The shoot is on Monday. I recommend you let us take another crack at it.
Client: I don’t think so. I’ll have it to you next week.

3 Responses to “Go Ahead Then, Be That Way”

  1. dailybiz December 11, 2007 at 9:46 am #

    maybe he read copyblogger and got some tips to good copywriting. i had a client who did that once.

    the results were predictable.

  2. David Burn December 11, 2007 at 7:02 pm #

    Typing is not writing. But few people seem to grasp that simple fact.

  3. Post Monkey December 13, 2007 at 8:54 am #

    You forgot the last line:

    Which was it?

    Me: Let me give you the name of an agency who might put up with your shit.

    OR

    Me: My knees are getting sore. Can I put on some knee pads before we do this?

Comments are closed.

