A Discombobulated, Caffeinated Mess

30 Oct

Take this with a grain of salt, because I have a slight inclination to be irritated by everything Digitas does. MediaPost has an article out today about the relaunch of a site for Sparks, a caffeinated alcoholic drink by SAB Miller. Upon first glance, the site looks cool – nav is fun, if you absolutely love Google Maps, and the illustrations are a little funky. It stops there. The interactivity lacks a certain je ne sais quois. And, je ne sais quois what that is, but it’s missing something. For example, I clicked through to watch all the semi-entertaining videos, but there were a ton of other things I expected to be clickable, and nothing. Rien. And when I said “semi-entertaining videos”, I lied a little.  What I really like is the copy, “Where do I get my hands on some cans?” Because everyone loves sexual innuendo.

Sparks Miller

One Response to “A Discombobulated, Caffeinated Mess”

  1. pablojeffress November 5, 2007 at 7:11 am #

    You’re right about the non-clickables, the spinner that doesn’t spin… even if you say it doesn’t spin, don’t make it a spinner. Good, but muppetry lets down.

Comments are closed.

