You’re Not Mean, You’re Just Scary

27 Aug

We had a new intern start this morning and more than a handful of people in the Monday morning let’s -get -this -party -started meeting told him to ease into meeting me. One of my account managers warned him of my cynically mocking conversational style and said I lacked a filter. Others suggested not talking directly to me for at least a week. I should be offended, but who the hell needs a graduate student lurking around hoping to learn something from you?

One Response to “You’re Not Mean, You’re Just Scary”

  1. Claire August 29, 2007 at 11:06 am #

    I’m so happy to hear this happens to other obviously smart women, too. I’ve been called mean, condescending, intolerant, and rude. Mostly by new employees to their superiors who bitch to my boss. My response is usually to the tune of “I’m not mean, she’s an idiot,” or “yes, I am intolerant of stupidity”.

    Also nice to know we’re not the only one’s suffering through horrible monday morning meetings.

Comments are closed.

