A Bleary Eyed Tart

15 Aug

I’m completely fried and looking at another long night at the office with only the window washers to keep me company. There’s 2 enormous presentations next week – one a branding research study and the other a 26 million dollar media pitch. My problem is this: I have to present the research study to a very large group of people and my public speaking skills are appalling. And when I invariably hit a low point in a speech, I make off-color jokes for no apparent reason. So I ‘m writing down the exact words I’m going to say so that doesn’t happen. Outcome is not favorable.

Coffee Aspirin

One Response to “A Bleary Eyed Tart”

  1. RPW August 17, 2007 at 3:08 pm #

    That’s actually not that bad of a tactic. I had to give a preso a few months ago on the phone to a bunch of clients. I wrote up notes in the Powerpoint slides, and rehearsed them ver batium. By the time I got to presenting it, I was able to ad lib with a lot more confidence — sort of like rehearsing for a play i guess?

Comments are closed.

